THE CLASH OF THE WEAKLINGS

THE CLASH OF WEAKLINGS
THE CLASH OF WEAKLINGS

THE BEGINNING
I happened to be at the police station some months back to get a police report concerning my missing identity card. I got delayed a bit and while I was waiting, an incident occurred and it really was a shocker for me. Six boys were led into the station in twos, tied to one another with the help of the cuffs to their wrists followed by a policeman carrying a girl who almost looked lifeless. From the conversation that ensued, I was able to gather that the lifeless girl was an unlucky victim who luckily escaped death from the boys who had gang-raped her. Few minutes later, the lifeless girl was taken away by a minibus for the hospital while the boys began to submit their statements.

What baffled me really was this: the boys in question looked malnourished and couldn’t have been more than sixteen years – does this mean that a group of weaklings just showed their strength over a weak girl? My question then is: “who is weaker, the strong girl who was overpowered by six boys or the six strong boys who were overpowered by the handcuffs?

THE RAPIST AND THE RAPED
I hurt every time I read stories of rape and even more do I hurt when I see the victim’s picture looking powerless afterwards. I try to come to terms with various headlines describing the victim as weak because for me, I see it the other way round. I always feel disappointed in rapists. Why bother to overpower a powerless or helpless vessel? I wonder if that’s the best way to show strength. It’s a big shame, more like seeing a man wrestle with a woman in public.

I see the rapist as the weak one. He must be weak at heart to have thought to overpower a powerless lady and the funny truth is they eventually look extremely weak when faced by the camera to reveal their true nature. Some even admit the devil to be behind their actions. You must be very weak to have allowed the devil take over your actions, I submit. I see the raped as otherwise, a strong person who is going to have to come out of that mess looking unshaken.

We all have an idea, even if it’s the slightest idea of what the law says about rapist and yet cases of rape are unending. That’s a talk for another day.
In the end, whenever I see the rapist, like those six boys, the question that comes to my mind is “who exactly do I see?” – a strong man that just showed his strength by overpowering a weak woman or a real weak man who has just been overpowered by a cuff that doesn’t weigh as much as his wrist will weigh.

I hope headlines will look much different in subsequent times, because two weaklings just clashed not one strong man and a weak woman.

HAVE U READ?

LETTER TO THE BALLING BOY

HELLO HOW ARE YOU?

@baron_bamzie
08024019777 (texts only)

3 thoughts on “THE CLASH OF THE WEAKLINGS

  1. Ameena k.g 04/10/2015 / 23:30

    And the worst part is those boys would probably be let free without the due punishment they deserve.

    • 'Bamiyo 05/10/2015 / 15:15

      The boys, we must put to mind, are not 18 years yet so I’m assuming the procedures for their punishment will be different, perhaps the juvenile courts.

      On the other hand, I agree with you because over the years most rape cases at Trial Courts do not pass harsh punishments, I assume they must have forgotten s.357 and 358 (such was seen in Popoola v. State. When the case was brought up on appeal, the Appeal Court submitted that the sentence passed by the Trial Judge was too light). In another way, I think the issue of rape hasn’t gotten much punishment for the rapists due to social reasons.

      Thanks for checking the article.

Leave a Reply

