AFRICAN BARBIE (A CONTINUATION OF I BE LADY OHH)

Whew! Lately, quite a number of female friends have attacked my view as to what I think ladies are entitled to, especially after my last post. I’m the new sexist – they say I feel the ladies shouldn’t be entitled to some rights enjoyed by the men. I bet they have forgotten some good posts I wrote to celebrate our ladies.

I’m a proud African man and I think like one too (you might want to read my view on Golden Streetz). The real African man might be tagged with all sorts of adjectives but you won’t deny the fact that we can be caring (although not totally romantic as the white man), I mean I am caring too.

I stand to be corrected. For me, being an African man means we are the ones that define what will make up the characteristics of an African Barbie. I talked about Fela Kuti’s description of an African woman and the way the African woman always want to be like a lady (you can read here). According to Fela Kuti, the ‘lady’ picture doesn’t fit the true African picture of a ‘woman’.

Truth be told, an African woman is natural – she’s black, even the fair ones are black (look at the skin very well), but once you can’t find the black trace in the fair ones then she’s no longer natural. She don turn lady be that. Another truth, Africa is full of good foods so our women are fleshy (even the lepa ones have the thickness somewhere in their body, don’t dull it).

Fela Kuti talked about the African woman while Tiwa Savage in Eminado appealed to Don to be his “African Barbie”, so let’s talk about the features of an African Barbie. I have Chiamaka on this (finally she’s on my side as regards the African spirit I preach).

    an African woman is natural – she’s black, even the fair ones are black (look at the skin very well), but once you can’t find the black trace in the fair ones then she’s no longer natural. She don turn lady be that

Grace; being am African Barbie goes beyond being sexy and hot, being an African Barbie also has to do with the way she carries herself in pure black royalty. When she steps into a room, she has this air of confidence as she is aware that she is an expensive piece of Art. She’s like ‘bow down bitches!!!’

Respect; this is key feature for an African Barbie. A true African Barbie won’t throw respect away for anything, not even academic excellence should make a real African Barbie throw away the habit of kneeling down for whoever she deems fit to receive it.

    Chiamaka: There’s no doubt that every girl wants to be an African Barbie (including myself)… and the new definition of sexy which has killed our self esteem. Truth is it all boils down to the society. The society has killed our Barbies!

Be a mother; being an African Barbie goes beyond being the perfect lover for your husband, but being the best mom for your kids. I think a very brilliant African Barbie will be able to balance being a working class wife and being a model mother.

Be a good cook; even before marriage, a true African Barbie will think of making dinner once in a while than buying dinner all the time. I won’t stress this point further.

Dress to kill; whoever thought being a typical African Barbie meant being too out-of-fashion got it all wrong. African Barbie dress decent enough, yet they make necks turn. Any Barbie who gets this wrong has gotten it all wrong.

Be proud of yourself; you should know already that you can’t take away the boldness of an African lady. They are going to make you know they are in the hall (don’t dull). They are sure of themselves and will give any potential husband who tries to woo them a tough time
.
However, one would finally ask, is there still an African Barbie out there? There’s no doubt that every girl wants to be an African Barbie (including myself). The truth is that there is hardly an African Barbie and it’s sad. There is poverty, pressure from parents and the new definition of sexy which has killed our self esteem. Truth is it all boils down to the society. The society has killed our Barbies!

This shouldn’t discourage our women oh! Flaunt what you’ve got and I’m sure you want to put away that ‘lady’ attitude and appearance and give us the African Barbie. You know how we roll

3 thoughts on “AFRICAN BARBIE (A CONTINUATION OF I BE LADY OHH)

  1. bimbo 05/09/2015 / 11:40

    Good writing, Thumbs up . Mean while ca you write something on sex ? Much ado about sex . What does it mean to a man 👨 or a woman 👩? Sex perversion like rape , incest ? Gay , lesbianism, bestiality and many more. How important is sex in our lifes? How long can you stay on without sex ? Contentment and sexual satisfaction ———??????? . Lets share experience . I belong to the middle generation and in our days no one talk about it but it does happen. Today media is SHOUTING it and most especially NEGATIVELY. Sex is God giving but today its something else. Lets share opinion and make little and necessary correction. Thanks, more grace.

    • 'Bamiyo 05/09/2015 / 13:57

      First, I’ll like to appreciate you ma for viewing the article, the kind words of encouragement and taking time out to comment.

      Secondly, I’ll take it as an offer to rub minds with you ma on the “hallowed” subject referred to as sex. Sure, I’ll accept to work on this with you.

      Much ado about sex is not a bad title but I’m sure to come with a catchy one soon. And like you know ma, I’ll represent the younger generation (and prove that our interest in sex isn’t as bad as the world thinks). I’ll contact you privately ma for an interview soon and I’m sure it will be an experience.

      Thanks again ma

  2. Destiny 05/09/2015 / 22:15

    .

Leave a Reply

