I’M A NIGERIAN

THIS PIECE IS DEDICATED TO EVERYONE WHO BELIEVES IN NIGERIA. TO ILEFE OZIGBO, ONE YOUNG FELLA THAT BELIEVES THE GOOD IS GOING TO HAPPEN HERE IN NIGERIA.

I’ve seen movies and I’ve read books. And I know this: if you’re in another man’s land to stay without the due process, it is more like you smuggled yourself into the land and for what it is you’ll be kicked out like an unwanted person – don’t start blaming anyone yet because you’re illegal. While you’re acting ignorant about it, you should know you cannot claim any rights; it’s hard to prove you died in another man’s land when the owner of the land doesn’t even recognise you.

I can’t imagine living a life where I can’t take a walk without looking over my shoulder. A kind of life where I can’t ask a girl I fancy out just because I do not belong. A kind of life where I can’t tell you to keep quiet because you’re disturbing my peace – I might end up being asked to show my ID which of course isn’t valid anymore. A kind of life where I can’t pick up my pen to tell anyone who cares to read me write about the ills of the government; if I can’t criticise the government, how in God’s name will I be able to defend my rights?

It’s no longer news that everyone is running out of Nigeria to go hustle over there – I’m not saying it’s not fun there, do not get me wrong. What I’m saying is there are some things I can do here which I will not be able to do there, what I’m equally saying is there are some respects and feelings I get here that I might not get there as often as I do here.

Alright! The unwise ones think everyone is rich there. It’s no news the economy here isn’t anywhere near most of those places, however the truth is they’re also poor ones there and our poor ones there can’t sleep with their two eyes closed.
Well, some think everyone is happy there. I’ve seen Nigerians here in extreme need of help still share a joke with their hearts beaming for joy – that’s what I call family. With all sincerity, the feeling you get when you’re family is greater than what you get when you’re alone.

I’m a Nigerian, I can travel to the less dramatic areas in Nigeria without looking over my shoulder or run into hiding when the police siren blasts. Instead, I’ll stretch out my neck to see what they’re up to.

I’m a Nigerian, and I’ve the spirit in me to question any policeman who’s trying to act weird with me – you don’t want to hear a lawyer teach you about his rights and at the same time enlighten you about the limits to your powers.

I’ve been mentioning “here” and “there” for a while now. By “here” I mean Nigeria, and “there” means any other place asides Nigeria.

I’m a typical Nigerian – I enjoy Fela Kuti’s songs, I like hear Lagbaja’s musical interlude, I fancy the typical Nigerian woman chubby and dark skinned…

@baron_bamzie

4 thoughts on “I’M A NIGERIAN

  1. justvou 30/08/2015 / 21:48

    May we one day have so much pride in our “here,” that we no longer romanticize over life “there,” or put our dignities on the line for a life over “there.”

    • 'Bamiyo 31/08/2015 / 03:38

      Of course, the day will come surely.
      And you do have a wonderful blog ma’am; many hilarious posts

      • justvou 31/08/2015 / 03:40

        That day will come soon, indeed. Thanks for checking out the blog. Life is too short not to smile and do silly things every now and then. 🙂 I’m glad I can chronicle some of the craziness that occur in my mind/imagination and occasionally in real life.

      • 'Bamiyo 05/09/2015 / 13:59

        You welcome ma’am.

        It’s a good thing you’re doing that, glad for you too. Life isn’t that hard after all.

Leave a Reply

