WHO WILL PRAY FOR US?

prayer-hands-BLOG
Let Us Pray

Have you ever been in a situation where you expect something to happen but nothing happened?

Have you ever depended on someone or some set of people to make it happen and yet they fail in making it happen or have you ever placed your hope in someone or some set of people to keep the mind of the world at rest?

Well, I have and…

I had gotten to the car park as early as I could on this fateful morning, then wished I had gotten there earlier as I saw the first bus take off. I wanted to get to Ilorin as early as possible. I had nothing to do in Ilorin until the day after, but I just wanted to beat the traffic that was known with the late hours of Friday mornings. The exterior of the bus was nothing to write home, as you will agree with me, this is not new with Nigerian public buses. I will prefer to board such than those private and clean buses in times like this – when you’re trying to save some money. That’s also not new anyways.

Let me not bore you with the details of the long wait before a public bus gets filled up, so I’ll head straight for what happened when the bus was filled up and ready to move. First thing I did was to look around the bus for the caliber of people in the bus. The reason for this is that I always wish to have at least one man looking very religious to pray before the journey starts proper, but to my shock on this day, everyone in the bus were looking so young and I concluded rightly that no one would stand up to the prayer task on this journey. Everyone for himself, I thought.

Few minutes into the journey, the bus jerked violently once causing a few of us to look at each other in search of answers. The bus jerked a second time and some of the passengers couldn’t but curse aloud. It was about that time everyone in the bus felt they could do with a little piece of prayer. I quickly asked the girl sitting to my right if she could render some prayers for everyone in the bus, she wasn’t sure she could but was sure I could. I asked about three other passengers and they all were of the same opinion. It dawned on me then that they all were waiting on me to render the prayers, even from the beginning before the bus moved at all. I must have been the only person that looked a bit like a Christian, I thought to myself.

What an irony – while I was hoping one of the passengers will pray for us, they all were hoping I will be the person to lead the prayers. However, since it was imperative that someone had to render some prayers at the moment, I took it upon myself to be that ‘someone’.

Just like I had asked in the beginning – have you ever depended on someone or some set of people to make it happen and yet they fail in making it happen or have you ever placed your hope in someone or some set of people to keep the mind of the world at rest?

Well…

When next you find yourself in a situation where you expect something to happen but nothing happens, then it is up to you – make it happen!

Photo Courtesy: praisephilly.hellobeautiful.com

DID YOU FIND THIS PIECE INTERESTING? THEN SUBSCRIBE TO READ MORE ARTICLES

Leave a Reply

