TO BE OR NOT TO BE

instincts

instincts

By Babaoye Temitope
@teebabsy
A writer and blogger. She’s in her fourth year studying law in the University of Ibadan

So during the week I saw this indian movie “Guzaarish” and I must confess that I was moved to my very soul.

The movie borders on Euthanasia; whether it’s right or wrong. Euthanasia is of Greek origin and it refers to the practise of intentionally ending a life in order to relieve undue pain and suffering (proper emphasis on the pain and suffering). It is otherwise known as mercy killing. It is legalised in certain places like Belgium, Netherlands, Albania, USA amongst others. However, It’s not yet legalised in Nigeria.

After seeing the movie, I was inspired and it led to ask myself a few questions. Would I ever allow any one I truly loved to opt for euthanasia?!!

    “Euthanasia is of Greek origin and it refers to the practise of intentionally ending a life in order to relieve undue pain and suffering…”

It was based on these random thoughts I wrote this post.

    ******************************

I remember how well you used to laugh over the years. A single smile from you could light up my day. I looked forward to the daily calls I’d receive from you asking how my day went. You have always been my greatest confidant and friend.

I was always amazed by how strong and tough you were. “Never let anything break down your spirit,” you would always say to me “light awaits you at the end of this tunnel.” You’d repeatedly ring into my ears whenever I was having a bad day.

At my weakest and strongest points, you were never found missing. With hugs and kisses you showered and clothed me. Love so tender and warm you showed me. You were the first person to ever help me understand and relate to that mysterious feeing they call love. To always make you happy and smile was the greatest joy of my life.

I look over my shoulder to see you on the bed and now I realise how much you have changed – hands so strong have become weak and feeble, I no longer see that smile or hear that laughter anymore. I only look at you and see a shadow of the person you once were.

It all changed after you had that fatal accident that left you confined to this bed you once loved which has now become your personal cell. You wouldn’t be able to walk ever again or move a muscle in your body. Your urinary and bowel systems had also been damaged; you would never have control of how you pee or stool.

On hearing those words, I felt the walls closing in on me. I couldn’t handle it at all, but being mindful of the things you had taught me I was hopeful I could handle it. But how wrong I was for I couldn’t bear to hear your cries of pain all through the night or see your eyes red with heavy eye bags each morning when I undressed you to clean you up. It broke my heart to see you wet the bed or call to me to help you scratch your nose. You hated the drugs you continually had to take; Its of no use, you always say. I can’t handle the look of hopelessness you wear on your face these days.

    It all changed after you had that fatal accident that left you confined to this bed you once loved which has now become your personal cell.

I would have fared all right but I see you are breaking down, more and more with each passing day. For ten years you have struggled with this condition; a fighter you were and still are, I must admit.

“This pain is too much for me. I am suffering, please help me end this. I want to rest.”

These were the words you said to me in between sobs this morning before you requested for euthanasia. I was shocked to hear it though I understand you are in pain but I can’t even begin to imagine life without you. I know that makes me selfish in a way but I love you and just can’t let you go.

So here I am at crossroads. How do I let go of some one so dear to me?!! You are one in a million.

Do I go against our morals and beliefs to grant her request or do I refuse her request hence continuing her suffering?!!

    So here I am at crossroads. How do I let go of some one so dear to me?!! You are one in a million.

How do I let go of My Mother?!!!

Kindly drop your comments and let me know your thoughts on Euthanasia

…writing is beyond mere ideas, proudly instincts!

7 thoughts on “TO BE OR NOT TO BE

  1. mhoji 05/05/2014 / 13:30

    I believe she requested and if you really love her you would let her have her way because why continue to make her suffer when she can go to the world beyond and have a better life. Just let her go and keep praying for her soul.

    • 'Bamiyo 21/05/2014 / 07:31

      Hmmm. I just think it’s suicidal and suicide is a sin. That’s my opinion tho

  2. gbenga 05/05/2014 / 21:07

    Mehn, dis is one topic I hv mixed minds about. My religious belief says no to euthanasia, but as a medical doctor, I see many patients who medicine can’t help, who have been given a slow acting but painful death sentence. It pains me at tyms n I wish we had euthanasia.

    • 'Bamiyo 21/05/2014 / 07:32

      Hmmm. Touching.
      We have to pray they ease out of the way and not push them out. Good reasoning boss

  3. Ridwan 06/05/2014 / 05:49

    Hmmm..euthanasia,forbidden religiously buh advised clinically/medically in cases of chronic pains…av mixd feelings on it tho, I do wish miracle can happen! Nt mercy killing!

    • 'Bamiyo 21/05/2014 / 07:33

      Miracle is what I believe in too bro, no to mercy killing – killing is not merciful in the first instance

  4. Busayo Fatilewa 06/05/2014 / 09:56

    Hmmm. I think the issue of euthanasia is against christiandom so it is wrong to even contemplate. Torn between these two decisions, one must let the will of God be done. I can’t be realistic enough.

Leave a Reply

