THE BOARDING HOUSE (EPISODE 3)

NOTE: AFTER THE 2ND EPISODE, I GOT MYSELF BUSY CLEARING THE AIR OF THE ISSUE WHICH MATTERED MOST ON WHAT YEAR THIS STORY RELATES TO, ESPECIALLY FROM THE OLDER GENERATION. THE STORY OF DONALD COLE IS BASED ON THE 2005 SET. THANK YOU FOR VIEWING.

 

My lips willingly curve into a smile anytime I remember this day, for on that day I learnt something new, and I learnt it in a very informal way. Before this day, I was unknown to the fact that…

My name is Donald Cole, a freshman in College. The boarding house is a school on its own, I always learnt something new and I was happy to be in the boarding school – something the day students missed!

It was on a Friday afternoon and I was on my way to the dormitory, we had just had lunch and the stomach seemed to be the happiest part of the body at that moment – I think the buttocks were the saddest anyways. Peeps were going back to observe the siesta immediately, but for me I had to see senior Tonye who gave me his books to bring down to his “apartment” earlier that day.

“I had to do this quickly before the seniors flooded the dormitory” I thought to myself. If you weren’t observing siesta, you could either get punished by a prefect or sent on irritating errands by the no-good seniors. I knew those already so I had to get to senior Tonye quickly.

I dashed quickly to senior Tonye’s apartment to drop the books. Luckily for me I met him there, at least there would be no unnecessary time wasting. Suddenly, I saw something and I was sure it was what I saw…

The morning was so cold; it had rained the night before. It was one of those Mondays in the month of February and we were all getting dressed for assembly that morning. As we were getting dressed on the corridor (I and my friends – the junior students dressed on the corridors), I bent to put on my socks and sandals and that took me like 2 minutes, then I got up to adjust my shirt and pick up my tie which was on top of my locker. Lo and behold, my precious tie was gone.

“Jee-eee-ss-uuuus!” I screamed. “Where is my tie now?” I asked rhetorically, “I put it here now, abi…” I started checking everywhere for my tie. I checked ridiculous places for my tie – under the locker, my school bag, everywhere.  I even ran back into the dormitory to check my bedside and I asked my friends when I thought they might be playing planks but no – they knew nothing about my missing tie. Alas, my precious tie was gone. I didn’t feel the loss after a while because I got another one – that was like a term ago.

To my amazement, I was sure it was what I saw – my tie on senior Tonye’s neck with my name boldly written on it. “Some seniors tho”, I thought to myself.

“Excuse me please” I got his attention. “That is my–” my voice broke off but my fingers pointed at his chest and I knew he knew what I meant – my tie sir!

He still asked me what I wanted with a smile. I just smiled back and left. I learnt that day that there was nothing like stealing, it was called ‘picking’ and it was only done to things carelessly left to be. “I’ve learnt something new” I told myself.

 

 PLEASE, CHECK HERE NEXTWEEK FOR ANOTHER THRILLING EPISODE OF THE SERIES: THE BOARDING SCHOOL OR FOLLOW OUR BLOG AND GET THE NEXT EPISODE IN YOUR MAIL BOX, THANK YOU.

 

One thought on “THE BOARDING HOUSE (EPISODE 3)

Leave a Reply

